Purple Haze

The title was not originally the inspiration for this piece, but like many of my art projects, they seem to take over themselves.

guitar sketchFirst this was going to be a quick black-and-white sketch of someone playing a guitar, to give me some practice on my Wacom Tablet. Then it turned into a body study as well. I decided to leave out the chair and rotate it for a different perspective. Next I decided that a colored background would improve the aesthetic quality of the sketch greatly for minimal time spent: Bonus. I then thought, “Since this is Photoshop after all, why not make it an image instead of just color?” I grabbed a stock image from the net, rotated it to meet my light source and cropped it, and then I noticed my subject’s hair, amongst the clouds.

The color change was the next logical choice. My fifteen minute sketch turned into an hour and a half. There are still things I would like to fix about this pic, but thus is the nature of a perfectionist. Or an artist. Or both. I’m deciding to move on.

Leave a Reply

