Spray Paint Experiment

I recently watched a few videos of people painting planets and night scenes with spray paint. They would put the color on in layers, put black over the top and use different tools to take varying amounts of paint off of the artwork. At the end they would take a scraper and remove the paint all the way down to the paper, revealing the white underneath. I tried my hand at it, but with slightly different subject matter:

wpid-img_20150512_134405.jpg
wpid-img_20150512_134444.jpg
wpid-img_20150512_134522.jpg

Even taking into account that I’m pretty critical of my own work, I’m still not very pleased with how they came out. Granted, it’s a new medium for me, and adjusting to this particular technique will take time and practice. One thing that took me by surprise was how little time I had to accomplish my task. I’ve used spray paint before, so the rate at which it dries was no surprise, and I had watched the three-minute-videos online too, so I thought I knew what I was getting into.

What surprised me was how slow I was! LOL. It was a challenge for me to accomplish anything at all in such a small amount of time. I do like artistic challenges though, so expect to see more of these in the near future.

Leave a Reply

